The Nigerian Entertainment Awards are here, and the nomination list is having me torn among the options they have offered. I, however, have to come to a decision to most, and this is where my money is:

Best Album: Yemi Alade’s Mama Africa takes it all here because half the songs on it have hit across Africa and beyond. Nagode, Nakupenda, Ferrari, Do as I Do and Africa are among many other songs in that album.

Hottest Single: Baba Nla– This song by Wizkid is super relaxed with awesome beats and deserves the award.

Afropop Artist: Wizkid does it for me… am wondering when he will launch that album already because these wild oats in the form of singles are too many. His touch on One Dance is not in any way deniable.

R & B Artist: Seyi Shay is the ultimate RnB sensation from Nigeria with tracks like Murda that had a Dancehall feel and Right Now which can have you balancing tears very easily.

Rap Act: Phyno raps in a way that makes you love African hip hop even when you can barely make a word of what he says. Partly because of the word count per second and in part because of the language barrier. I love his part on Bombay and Temperature. He is irrefutably the best Nigerian rap act.

Dancehall Artist: This is where I get torn apart. I just wonder why I have to choose between Timaya, Patoranking and Burna Boy. Gun on my head, I’d go with Burna Boy because Yawa Dey is just blessings on blessings on blessings.

Best New Act: Ycee takes it here. Jagaban is one fine tune. The lyrics have a nice comic relief and in hindsight, they make a lot of sense.

Most Promising Act: Mr. Eazi’s highlife music just makes you get into a feel good zone and nod your head to his well thought through lyrics. Sample Anointing feat. Sarkodie and Dance For Me with Eugy and feel free to tell me am lying.

Best Live Performer: Yemi takes it all. Her set on stage is always on point from costume to dancing moves. She is the African “Beyonce”. Her energy through it all just leaves you loving her the more.

Music Video: I honestly have no doubt Right Now is the superior music video right here. The emotion weaved into the music and subsequently into the video is just too overwhelming.

African Male: Here is where loyalty and talent get tested. Sarkodie is on the list with Sauti Sol, and I honestly can’t decide. King Sark comes a very close but a significant second.

African Female: Vanessa Mdee is our African “Rihanna”. They are both super awesome, and it would be wrong even to compare them. I think Niroge is what tipped me to her side.

Music Producer: I’d go with Cobhams because that guy has a good ear. He has co-written and produced songs like Jailer and Fire On the Mountain (by Asa) which to date still ring in my head.

African Deejay: Finally among the nominees for African Deejays, I’d go with Joe Mfalme easily because he is the most sought after professional deejay due to his interaction with the audience. He is not the Mfalme (King) for no reason.

 

Leave a comment